Smartypants

So.

Wednesday is the day, guys. This will be my last post pre mission FOREVER.

Weird.

My farewell was today, in my “home ward”, which I have never actually attended.

Funny story:

Last night I stayed up until 2:30 a.m. doing laundry so I wouldn’t have to add that to all the crap I have to do in the two days before I leave. This is the first sign that today was going to heck in a handbasket.

2nd sign- I woke up SUPER late. And on top of that my dad made me steak and eggs for breakfast, so of course I’m going to sit down and eat it. What kind of crazy says no to steak and eggs?? So I only had time to shower, which leads in perfectly to

3rd sign- Since I only had time to shower, I had to do my makeup in the car on the way to West Jordan, which is a 30-40 min drive. Do not do this. Ever. It always turns out badly.

4th sign- finish doing my makeup when we are a little over half way there…..

REWIND

On the way out the door, after spending a precious 14 seconds looking for my scriptures, I decide to use my iPad for my scripture references in my talk and just leave my scriptures.

FAST FORWARD

… and I realize.

MY. TALK. WAS. IN. MY. SCRIPTURES.

A choice Mormon swear word was uttered.

A heart rate elevated.

An anxiety level escalated.

What am I supported to do now??????

Improvise.

Thankfully, THANKFULLY, I remembered some of what I was going to say, and was able to quickly full in the rest with scriptures found in the Topical Guide and my testimony.

And, get this, my talk didn’t turn out awful. Wooooooooooo.

And, today actually turned or to be a pretty amazing day. ( With the exception of the creepy lady that told me about all the dead bodies her brother saw while he was in Pittsburgh on his mission. Thanks?)

Things I learned from today:

1. Don’t forget your dang talk, smartypants.

2. It is impossible to effectively search for something in 14 seconds.

3. Do not your makeup in the car. People laugh at you. Blatantly. And it doesn’t look good.

4. Your testimony is almost always going to surprise you with it’s strength.

On a more serious note, I really love this gospel. I love the unique opportunities we have to teach each other and learn from and lean on one another.

I love my family and the AMAZING generosity they have shown me in helping pay for my mission. And I’m so grateful for the example I have in all my aunts and uncles and cousins, who are so strong in the church and were rocks for me to lean on when I had my doubts and trials.

This is so surreal, and I love you all!

x Lyss x

Leave a Reply

