I made it! Kind of!

Hi family! And friends! And any other peeps who may be creepin’! I love you all!
It was so great to see slash hear from all of you yesterday!! Happy Mother’s Day again! I’m sorry Skype quit working!
I feel like I have a month’s worth of stuff to tell you, and its only been 9 days since my last P-Day! (P-Days will be Mondays from now on).
I’ll start with leaving the MTC. We had to get up at 3 am to make it to the MTC travel office by 4 am to make our 7:30 flight. I was struggling to get my luggage to the office, and when we were almost there Elders Weatherston and Adamson found us and helped us get our luggage to the bus. I seriously wanted to cry I was so grateful to them, my wrists are still bruised from how I was trying to balance my carry on. Bee, make sure you have a way to attatch your carry on to one of your other bags. Promise, its worth it.
Got to call daddy from the airport for like 30 seconds and we basically just cried on the phone for the entire 30 seconds and I swear the Elders think I’m a weepy loser. I cry so much guys. MOM, I didn’t call you because it was 4:30 am and I knew dad would be awake for work, and I also didn’t know if I would get to talk to him on Mother’s Day.
On the plane.
It was a pretty normal plane ride, except the flight attendant kept exclaiming about how she’d never had that many missionaries on one plane before, and took a picture of us. So I’m on some random flight attendant’s Facebook. Its fine.
Proof that my mission is changing me: I willingly shared beef jerky with Sister Hanseen and Elder Adamson. Like, I actually OFFERED. Guys. I’m becoming more Christlike already! I’m sure Jesus would have just given them the whole bag, but hey, its a step in the right direction.
My camera was The Selfie Camera for the last couple of days at the MTC. This part is for my district:
Total selfies: 64
Selfies I’m in: 7
Selfies of Elder Adamson: 17
AND Selfies of Elder Weatherston: ……….. 46. I love it.
So. The plane from Detroit to Pittsburgh. Oh. My. Word. 26 of us continued to Pittsburgh. That plane was probably the teeniest commercial plane in existance. And Elder Weatherston was on it. The plane from floor to ceiling was probably only 6′. Elder Weatherston is 6’10”. I didn’t know whether to laugh or to cry on his behalf.
The plane from SLC to Detroit: RRRRRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRR
The plane from Detroit to Pittsburgh: beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.
I wanted to die the entire time.
Confusion at the airport. The plane was so small, they used the cargo hold for like six suitcases and the rest was for our carry ons, which we didn’t know. So the majority of the missionaries had to stay an extra two or three hours for the next plane to come in with their luggage.
We had a driving instruction session with the fleet coordinator. Spent the night at the mission home, where Sister Hanseen and I had a bonding moment of hilarity (picture us laying on the floor laughing/crying) and then Elder Weatherston walked in on us and joined in. It was pretty great.
And then we got our assignments.
I am assigned to a tiny town called Bloomsburg, PA. Our area covers Bloomsburg, Catawissa (toddler for cat awyssa!), and one other town which I can never remember because it is a weird name.
My trainer’s name is Sister Andresen (pronounced andreesen, like the e in week). She is a pretty cool, hilarious girl. I prayed for a funny companion, because I can’t handle serious people. I think I would have had a mental breakdown if she hadn’t been funny for reasons I will explain in a minute. She has a lot of pet peeves though, and I feel like all I do is bug her, because humming bugs her, sighing bugs her ( I didn’t realize I even sighed that much till she pointed it out), hair bugs her, and a few other things I can’t remember right now that are really weird and unique. The only thing she does that bugs me is when we teach she assumes I’m not going to explain something right and interupts me so she can explain it her way. Otherwise she is awesome! She lovingly refers to me as hag or greenie, and if I accidentally do something against the white bible she calls me either a Gentile or an apostate.
Reasons why I almost had a mental breakdown when we first got here:
1. Our apartment is a crap hole. It doesn’t have hot water, there is a giant hole in the floor we have to jump over between the kitchen and the living room. There is no heater, and the air conditioner leaks so we can’t use it very much. It has had elders living in it for at LEAST 20 years. There is a scary attic that I almost died in twice already, and the whole apartment smells like mold/elders/20 pack a day smoker/ hatred and fear. Needless to say, we are moving shortly.
2. I am a greenie and freaking out is something greenies do.
3. Sister Andresen has like a hundred pet peeves.
4. The area is a college town. There have been a lot of meth house busts in the past year (like 36?) in the town right next to us, and in our town there are like 5 taverns just on main street, and a lot of wild college parties that make it hard to tract in the evenings.
5. Sister Andresen and I were “doubled in”, which means both of us are new to the area and have no idea what’s going on. We are pretty much starting over, because the elders only had 1 investigator, who will be baptized on Saturday, so we are going to be starting over.
Reasons why I am no longer having a mental breakdown:
1. Sister Andresen is like comic relief. Her sarcasm is priceless. She has her own special brand.
2. We don’t actually spend that much time in our apartment.
3. We are moving soon.
4. We have set up 3 appointments just from tracting and street contacting in the past 3 days!
5. We have 2 appointments set up with former investigators, who only stopped investigating because “it wasnt the right time for them” and we went and visited and they said they would be willing to take the lessons again.
6. The gospel just makes me happy. No question that this is the true church, and this is where I am supposed to be.
7. The town of Catawissa is the cutest thing I have ever seen in my entire life. Everyone has a porch, with a porch swing or rocking chairs and cute shutters and its just so dang cute I could die.
8. The ward is great! They fight over who gets to feed us because there haven’t been sisters in the area for over 10 years. I haven’t had to eat anything I don’t like yet, which is really lucky because I’m such a picky eater. The poor elders from our area though! They’re just like “But, what about us?” Its kinda funny/sad.
You can tell the church is young here though. Almost everyone is a convert. I love it! There was a family that was baptized the transfer before we got here that seem like they’ve been members their whole lives!
The entire area is greener than seems real. I feel like this isn’t real life, like I’m in some kind of inspirational movie made by the church about missionary work. It actually feels kinda like a foreign mission because I am so not used to anything here.
I better go so I can have a little time to email everyone else individually. I cant do pictures because I forgot my camera cord, but I’ll send some next time! I love you guys so much! I miss all of you, especially my district from the MTC! You guys rock!
I love this gospel, I love being here. I’m happy and tired all the time!
Remember every member a missionary! Going out with the missionaries is an opportunity to grow your testimony by sharing it. We get so excited when a member wants to come teach with us!
Also, I want to challenge everyone to pray for missionary expiriences and pay close attention to the hymns we sing, especially the sacrament hymns. I used to sing on auto pilot, and now that I pay attention to the words, I cry almost everytime we sing, its so embarrassing. Thanks Elders Vassallo and Weatherston for showing me the importance of hymns. I miss your singing voice Elder Weatherston!
Love you guys!
x Sister Roberts xGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

