What A Week!

Hey guys!

Wow, I was so long winded in the last email! Sorry!

This week has had a lot of ups and downs. I would like to say it was mostly ups, but I would be lying.

First tragedy: I. Lost. My. Memory. Card. It is lost in the depths of the gear shift of our car, and will cost 80-160 dollars to retrieve. I was so devastated that I couldn’t cry. It’s been a week, and my heart still hurts every time I think about how I will never see my MTC pictures again. I can’t handle it.

Second tragedy: Our investigator who was supposed to be baptized Saturday, Christine, had a worthiness issue in her interview, which led to us discovering how little of a testimony she had in the first place. We went from preparing to teach her the new member lessons to having to drop her in the span of one day. It sounds cold that we dropped her, but she resents us so much for not letting her be baptized, even though she never thought she needed to be in the first place.

Third tragedy: I got a stomach bug, so we had to stay in on Wednesday and half of Thursday. I’m am so ready for Satan to realize that making me get sick isn’t going to work, because I am so tired of being sick and working despite that.

There are a plethora of other minor things that went wrong, but I don’t you guys to be sad for me, because I’m not sad!

There are some awesome things that did happen this week though!

Awesome things:

1. We found a place to live! We can’t move in until June 1st, but at least we found somewhere! Most of the apartments here are just a large house separated into different apartments, and that is what the one we live in now is AND the one we are moving into. But this one was just recently renovated, and it has dark wood floors and walls and is just gorgeous! It kind of reminds me of the house in The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe. No hole in the floor! Hot water! No smell!

2. We got a referral from a member, and she is so great! I have a feeling she is going to be a golden investigator.

3. We are starting a 40 day fast today! Not from food, obviously, but from things, so that we can be purified and have the Spirit with us more. Its something from a talk that Sister Andresen has. I’m so excited! I’m not sure what Heavenly Father wants me to give up yet, but I’ll let you know next week.

A couple stories, and then I’ll end.

The other day, we had dinner with a family in the ward. When we got to their address, I immediately judged them. The live in a trailer court (Pennsylvanians call them trailer courts instead of trailer parks! How weird is that?) and they were not in one of the trailers that were in better condition. We got there, and two of the six kids were unloading groceries, their dog was barking its cute little head off, the two month old was screaming, dinner wasn’t started, and the mom’s shirt was NOT long enough. But as we sat and waited for the groceries to be put away, I watched them, and I totally felt chastened by Heavenly Father for judging them. They are such a loving family. The dad is Peruvian, and the mom is so white/blonde that she might be albino, and as a result their kids are BEAUTIFUL. They have Peruvian features but lighter coloring, and they all look like little models with their high cheekbones and huge eyes. The dad was so great and patient with the kids. He was feeding the little baby and also trying to get the rest of the kids showered and do their chores while the mom put away groceries and cooked. It was interesting, because he made the chores seem like favors, and the kids were more willing to do them because it was a “favor” to their dad. When we finally were able to eat, we learned that they were recent converts (within the past 2 years) and got to hear their super cool conversion story. I’d tell you what it was, but I feel like conversion stories are really personal, spiritual expiriences and shouldn’t be shared without permisson. But they all love each other so much, and I am so glad we got to have dinner with them. Its been interesting how all of my wild dinner expiriences have turned out to be my favorite ones!
Some interesting words I’ve heard: nugrients (nutrients), regenuvate (regenerate/reguvenate), and decipleeals (deciples)
We were tracting, and I had a good feeling about this one street, so we started knocking on doors. After like an hour on this one street, I was starting to think that my good feeling had been because no one was mean to us, but the very last door we knocked on, we found April. She is a really kookie lady! She kept going on and on about how homosexuals were going to take over the earth, and the apocalypse was coming, but she used a lot of scriptures from the Bible to back up her theories. So I’m pretty intimidated when we teach her because my focus has obviously been the Book of Mormon. My favorite thing, though, is when people have misconceptions about us, because then we get to set them straight! She totally tried to shut us down at first because she thought we don’t believe in the Bible, and the only reason she let us come back is because we told her the Book of Mormon is another testament of Christ! So that was really cool :).
Last one!
We were eating at a member’s house, and we got to try some Pennsylvanian dishes! One of them was called scrapple which is like squishy, wet sausage (didn’t like it), and the other one is called a parogi, which is kind of like a dumpling. It kind of like a noodle on the outside, and the inside is potato and cheese (liked it!). They told us you could put pretty much anything inside them though. So that was fun!!
I am attempting to send pictures. I think I’m sending scenery, and me in front of our gross apartment.
I love you guys so much, and I’m so happy here! I love being a missionary, no matter how hard and sad things are, because the happy moments are totally worth it!

1st missionary apartment!

1st missionary apartment!

scenery PA

scenery PA2

Leave a Reply

