We Moved…FINALLY

Hey everyone!!

This week has been much better! I haven’t gotten sick this week, so that is a tender mercy! I can’t believe how much I got sick, just in the first month of my mission!! Last week I found out I had a kidney infection, but this week I’ve been fine. Hopefully I don’t jinx it. Whatever.

Wintertons, I got your email!! I love you guys!! I’m glad you can picture my facial expressions, my goal is to not bore everyone to tears every week :).

We finally got to move out of our 20 year old apartment on Friday and Saturday!!! When I say 20 years, I mean thats how long elders lived in it before we got here… Its definitely older than 20 years. So gross. I wish there had been a hazmat suit I could have worn when we were cleaning it out, it was that gross. Don’t even get me started on the attic. Holy. Cow. Elder Larsen was bringing stuff down, and he says: “And now for the the next segment of our show: What Is It?”. He had this super weird zig zag plastic black thing… covered in spider webs. Lets just say, I suddenly remembered I didn’t clean… something really important elsewhere, like the um window in the bedroom or something. Haha. Out neighbor across the street, who is total hoarder status, came over and just started taking random pieces of wood and making Elder Yates carry our drum set (I’m pretty sure we are NOT allowed to play drums while doing the Lord’s holy work…) down the street to her son or whatever.

But our new apartment is ADORABLE. Its still really old, but in a nice rustic kind of way instead of an ew did we really just spend 5 weeks living here kind of way. There is no air conditioning, and I have zero desire to be clothed while we are in the apartment. But we have like 7 fans, two of which I had to buy. Fun fact: Central air is for rich people. I didn’t know that. I have never been so filthy hot in my whole life. Weird places on my body get sweaty… like my shins. Whose shins sweat???? Our old apartment had a window air conditioner, and luckily, a member of the ward has a super old one that only works on low, but hey, its an air conditioner. We just have to hang in there until Friday!

I might bombard you with pictures, since I haven’t really been able to send any the last couple weeks. Hope thats okay!

We had a really amazing first lesson with Linda, the lady in the picture in front of the tree that I look like a total hobo in. She is a referral from a member, and we want to baptize her SO BAD. She was so amazing in the first lesson. I haven’t felt the Spirit that strongly in a lesson on my mission yet so far. I committed her to be baptized, but she is scared of water, so we are going to have to help her with that. She doesn’t have a date yet though. And we’ve only taught her once!!!

Guys, I cannot express to you how important it is that we as members of the church are always being examples to those around us. The reason Linda is so open to the gospel is because she said she has been watching Sister Decker, the member that referred her, and she really liked the way that she is raising her kids and the way she lives her life.

One more cool story.

We were trying to find a former, and he wasn’t home, so we decided to tract around his house. We saw this guy standing on his front porch, smoking a pipe. Sister Andresen was like, let’s go anihilate this guy with the gospel, and I was like, okay, and so we went and talked to him. He was really nice, and his pipe was really fancy. We gave him a Book of Mormon, invited him to read the introduction, and also to read the whole thing, and asked him if we could come back and teach him a little bit more about what we believe. He was like, Yes, please come back next Tuesday at 2, and we were like, okay, and then we left to go back to our car, because its awkward to tract while someone you just talked to watches you. I turned around, and HE WAS READING THE BOOK OF MORMON WHILE SMOKING HIS FANCY PIPE. I love it. He has no idea that we are going to blow his mind tomorrow at 2.

Something kind of irritating about Pennsylavians: They NEVER commit to a certain time for appointments. Here is a typical conversation with a Pennsylvanian:

Me: So when would be a good time for us to come back?

Pennsylvanian: Oh, I’ll be around, just come on by whenever.

Me: Is there a day that works best for you?

Pennsylvanian: Nah, just come over whenever.

Me: Is Friday okay?

Pennsylvanian: Yeah, Friday is fine, I’ll be around.

Me: What time are you usually home?

Pennsylvanian: Oh just come over whenever, I should be here.

Me: …

Me: How about 4 pm?

Pennsylvanian: Sure.

*Friday at 4*

Me: *knock knock*

Me: …

Me: …

Me: …

Me: *facepalm*

Me: David A. Bednar is coming… It’s fine.

That was fun! So, to end my email, I would like to share my Mormon Message of the week. In honor of David A. Bednar coming to my mission, I would like to invite you guys to watch the Patterns of Light series of Mormon Messages by David A. Bednar. My favorite one is part two, when he talks about your mom telling you to say your prayers, and how that is a form of feeling a promting from the Spirit. I LOVE IT. He makes such a good point in that.

I love you guys so much, and I enjoy reading your emails and letters. Keep em coming! You guys continue to motivate me with your advice and good expiriences. I love hearing about your lives, and I’m grateful that ya’ll are so good at keeping me in the loop.

Be examples! Read David A. Bednar’s talk called Asking in Faith (or something like that). Watch Patterns of Light.

I love you! Keep your chins up! At least your shins don’t sweat! Sorry I suck at writing back!

x Sister Roberts x

P. S. the pictures in this email are of two families that I LOVE here, the Deckers and the Shermans, one is of how normal people would sleep in our new room, and the other is how we really sleep in our new room. I’ll try and also send pictures of our old room, our icky apartment, and miscellaneous other pictures.

The attic mess

The attic mess

Christine

Christine

Classy dinner

Classy dinner

Cleaning out the attic with the elders

Cleaning out the attic with the elders

Companions!

Companions!

AR Fun times

There was a landmine in the attic

There was a landmine in the attic

The crazy elders

The crazy elders

Our old room

Our old room

The painting that Cello Sherman gave me!! :)

The painting that Cello Sherman gave me!! šŸ™‚

Pennsylvania doesn't like tailgaters!

Pennsylvania doesn’t like tailgaters!

Questionable green eggs

Questionable green eggs

Susquehanna River

Susquehanna River

The latest p-day

The latest p-day

The swamp

The swamp

The Deckers and the Shermans

The Deckers and the Shermans

Our new room: How normal people sleep...

Our new room: How normal people sleep…

Our new room: How we sleep

Our new room: How we sleep

Leave a Reply

