Mexican

Hello loves!

I don’t really have a lot to say, its been a pretty slow week…

I do have a couple of funny stories, and some spiritual ones, but I guess that’s what I do every week.

Funny ones first!

We do service twice a week at a nursing home. This past week, there was this way cute little old lady sitting by herself, so I went and sat by her and struck up a conversation. She is a devout Jehovah’s Witness (Question: do they believe in heaven? By the way she was talking I think they might not.) and is a little kooky, but I totally love her. She had polio when she was little, and has had to wear leg braces all her life. But that’s not funny. The funny part is I told her I grew up in New Mexico but I live in Utah. She is really hard of hearing, and she just heard Mexico. But I didn’t have the heart to correct her, because she was so excited to meet a real Mexican! So, excited, in fact, that she yelled really loudly “YOU MEAN I CAN TELL PEOPLE THAT I’VE MET A MEXICAN?!?!” Oh man. It was so funny :).

Also, on the 4th we had to be in by 6 unless we were with a member. We were visiting a less active member named Louis (the Vietnam Veteran) and were fussing about not being able to be out after 6. We didn’t know at the time that a different member was planning on having us over. So they invited us over. So, on the 4th of July, we did what everyone and their dog warned me not to do before I came out: scheduled back to back dinner appointments. Guys, there is a reason that is a thing. I wanted to die by the end of the second one, and when we got home I just laid on the floor for an hour after we were done planning. I testify to you that 2 dinners is a bad thing (haha).

Spiritual ones now!

So we have 1 investigator. Her name is Tami, and I can’t remember if I’ve told yall about her yet. She smokes and her dad is a less active. Anyway, SHE CAME TO CHURCH FOR THE FIRST TIME YESTERDAY!! Sister Draper and her previous comp had been trying to get her to come for MONTHS, and she finally came :). She had a really great experience, especially since it was fast and testimony meeting. But, we talked, and she has agreed to be baptized on the 27th of this month! She has gone from smoking a couple of packs a day to 2 or 3 cigarettes a day, and I’m pretty confident that she can quit at least two weeks before then. So, I’m way excited about that :D.

Another thing that happened at church yesterday. I told nana this, but I love it so I’m going to tell all of you. This twelve year old boy got up to bear his testimony. He was the last one of the meeting. He is really small for his age, but is also way mature for his age. I really think he is also a better missionary than some of the full time missionaries in my mission. But anyway, after telling us about some of his member missionary experiences from the week, his voice started to tremble, and he said “I know I’m small in stature, but spiritually, I am bigger than Goliath.” Oh. My. Heck. This kid. I start to tear up, and the Elders are sitting behind me and they see me wiping my tears and they totally teased me after. But really, this 12 year old is really inspiring, and I love his example to me and the other missionaries in my area.

One last thing, can someone find out what the angel Moroni is made of, who the sculptor is, and where it is cast? Louis would like to know:).

I love you guys, so SO much, and I miss you a ton. The Mormon message for the week is You’re Never Alone. I liked this one a lot because it made me think of you mom :). Its by Elaine Dalton, the former Young Women’s general president. She is totally my hero.

Love you guys, stay strong, and be member missionaries always (except those of you who get this who are full time missionaries, in which case HURRAH FOR ISRAEL)!

x Sister Roberts x

Leave a Reply

