Learn, Live, and Share

Well, if you guys are having half as good weeks as I am, you have to be livin the life, because I sure am!!

I have been in this area for around 5 months now, and man, was the work super slow here for the first couple. But the last couple of weeks have really been a testimony builder to me about the blessings of hard work, patience, and diligence. I love this area so much, and I just feel like a proud momma now that its cruising along so well.

JESUS LOVES OHIO!!! AND ME! AND YOU!

First off, we started teaching our investigator, Kurt, the lessons all over again. He told us that before he had just been listening to us for his wife and stepson’s sake, but something changed when Sister Nay and I got here, and now he wants to listen for himself. So we had the first lesson shortly after I finished emailing you last week, and it was AMAZING. He asks the best questions, and his faith is growing so much. I love looking back at when I first got here, and how far he has come since then. He has inside jokes with us about the Book of Mormon, and I seriously love it. He has this obsession with Lehi’s dream ever since we read it with him a couple of weeks ago, and he relates everything in the gospel back to it, and him doing that has actually taught ME a ton about the gospel.

The part member family we started teaching last week are doing great as well! Leeanna and Makayla are doing so great, and have already felt the difference the gospel has made in their lives. They came to church for the first time yesterday and absolutely LOVED it. Makayla is 17, and she loved Young Women’s and made some friends in the ward already. They gave her a gratitude journal, and she has already written like 7 pages in it. Her mom was super nervous, but I sat next to her the whole time, and she actually shared something in the gospel principles class. They invited us over last minute for dinner and scriptures, and Makayla invited one of her other friends, Kalatir, to eat and read with us, and they texted this morning and told us he is really interested to know more now too! Not even baptized yet and they are doing missionary work!!

We enlisted Makayla and Corey’s help in raking a very elderly man’s 1500 FREAKING SQUARE FOOT LAWN on Saturday, and I’m so glad they did. Not only did they learn how fun it is to do service, but we had a blast! We tried to use their riding lawn mower to mulch the leaves, but it didn’t work, because it is REALLY old. It died, and we (mostly Corey) had to push it up a way steep hill back to their house. Sister Valikoula had never seen a riding lawn mower before, so she was WAY excited about it. It was so cute :). We had a race, with Corey and Makayla pushing me (SOMEONE had to steer!) on the mower and she had to do squats the whole way there. Yeah, she beat us so bad. Also, I have never been so sore in my whole entire life. I am SO GLAD that I brought George (my rice pack) on the mission with me.

We actually had a really good district meeting this week. Elder Almond taught us, and he is going to do great as a district leader when they make him one. He just needs to stop teasing us so much. Haha :). We learned about helping our investigators have more desire to be baptized, and I learned so much!

I also got my Conference issue Ensign the other day, and my hour of personal study has never felt shorter in my entire life. I love reading the words of the apostles, prophets, and the 70. I went to lds.org during our Mormon.org time on Thursday and printed a couple of memes from conference on a page, and we hung it on our front door so we see it every day before we leave the apartment.

Poor Heather was in the hospital again when we went to see her this week, but she was in good spirits and was so happy I had an extra Book of Mormon for her to read while she was there.

Randy and Michelle are doing awesome too, they have been rockstars at coming to church lately. They haven’t missed in over a month!!

Instead of doing a Mormon Message this week, I would like for you guys to watch Elder Edward Dube’s talk from this most recent conference. It was one of my favorites, and I hope it will be one of yours too!!

Thanks again mom for the Halloween stuff, we had fun with the mustaches and teeth :).

I love you all sooooo much! Thank you for your constant prayers and encouragement. I feel like a lot of our success has come solely from that :).

x Sister Roberts x
aly10

aly11

aly12

aly13

aly14

aly15

aly16

aly17

aly18

aly19

aly20

Leave a Reply

