Long Week

Hey everyone!!!

This week was long and slow, unfortunately. BUT, the Lord blesses us for our diligence, so we definitely reaped the benefits last night!!

First off, it has been ridiculously snowy all week. And one of my companions got sick for 3 days. So we spent a lot of time inside this week. We tried our best to do what we could from the apartment, though, so I feel like that is why we had such a great day yesterday. The Lord’s work is always worth it!!

Yeah, other than our sick Sorry! tournaments, I don’t really have a whole lot to report other than yesterday.

Soooooo, yesterday started off like a normal Sunday, having to get up at 5 for meetings and stuff before church starts at 9. Woof. We had a really good sacrament meeting about how our words effect those around us and how charity ties into the way we talk and act. I drank about 32 oz of water just in sacrament, so saying I had to pee like a racehorse for the entire rest of the day is an understatement. But that is irrelevant. We got to teach the Young Women in our ward the Plan of Salvation, and it went really well!! They learned a lot about it, I think, and none of them realized that the Atonement is part of the Plan of Salvation, much less the center of it!! It was cool to be able to teach them. Just reaffirms me belief that everyone that is able should go on a mission :).

Anyway, after church we practiced our song we will be singing in sacrament next week, and I love that song!! If you haven’t heard Come Unto Christ (2014 Youth Theme) then you should! Its so touching.

And then we had a lot of time to do service for people, especially shoveling for them because it snowed all day yesterday (again). We actually met a way cool lady named Jersey, who was a lesbian, but we left a Book of Mormon with her and she told us we were beautiful angels. So that was fun.

And then it was time for our lesson with a potential we found last Sunday. We had a member, Sister Whitlock, with us, and our potential ended up not being there (welcome to missionary work) so we decided to walk down the street and try and see a former investigator while we were in the area. It worked out perfectly, because as we were walking, we met Cecelia! She was shoveling her sidewalk, and she only spoke Spanish, so Sister Baltazar talked with her. Heavenly Father for sure blessed me with the gift of tongues, because I was able to understand most of what they were saying to each other. Sis B bore a beautiful testimony, and we got her information to come and teach her, and we left a Spanish Book of Mormon and a Spanish Restoration pamphlet with her. It was also really cool because Sis W was with us, and her testimony grew so much as we talked with Cecelia. I don’t think she realized that part of missionary work is stopping and talking to everyone we see, and how much courage it takes to do that. She had a fire in her eyes when we parted ways last night, and I know her testimony of missionary work grew for sure. Her family calls us the missionettes instead of the Sisters. Its glorious :).

I know I’m out here doing the Lord’s work. I love being a missionary so much, and I am so glad that Heavenly Father sent me to this area to be with these two companions. I haven’t had this much fun doing what I love so much in a long time. I’ll try and send you the video of the prank we played on Sister Baltazar last night :).

I love you all! Mormon Message of the week is actually just going to be the music video for Come Unto Christ on youth.lds.org because its sweet!

lovlovlov!

 

x Sister Roberts xDSCN1546 DSCN1532 DSCN1528
Leave a Reply

